Most countries want to improve the standard of living through economic development,however, others think social value is lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

Many believe that in the race to improve living standards, people are forgetting social values. However, in my perspective, this tendency obviously offers more demerits than merits. On the one hand, governments often try to increase the growth rate because it will have various advantages. Firstly, ​​​​​​economic growth means an increase in real GDP- this leads to output and higher average incomes. higher GDP implies the economy is producing more goods and services and therefore consumers can enjoy more goods and services. If human welfare is linked to consumption then growth will benefit society. Higher levels of consumption will help to reduce any incidence of absolute poverty when people can’t meet the basic necessities of life. This may not be so obvious for developed countries, like the UK and US, but for developing economies, economic growth and rising incomes play a big role in lifting people out of poverty. Secondly, higher economic growth will also lead to an increase in demand for labour as firms will be producing more. Therefore unemployment will fall, this has various advantages such as lower government spending on benefits and fewer social problems. If the economy is in recession, then increasing the rate of economic growth will be an important step in reducing unemployment. On the other hand, I am of the opinion that the aforementioned advantages are at the expense of greater drawbacks. Firstly, if economic growth is unsustainable and is higher than the long-run trend rate inflation is likely to occur. Furthermore, this temporary boom in output is unlikely to continue and may be followed by an economic downturn or recession. Thus, it can be very damaging to increase the rate of economic growth above the sustainable rate. This boom and bust cycle happened in the UK in the late 1980s and early 1990s. Secondly, economic growth often leads to increased inequality because growth benefits the richer most because they own assets and have the best-paid jobs. For example, Thomas Piketty observed that, without sufficient policies of redistribution, the wealthy tend to increase their wealth at a faster rate than economic growth – because they can reinvest their dividends. In conclusion, it seems to me that the disadvantages of improving the economy are more considerable than its advantages.