The best way to solve the environmental problems is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that vehicle emission is one of the main contributors to air pollutants. Therefore, some argue that raising fuel prices is the best method to tackle the environmental issue. I disagree with this point of view because there are better alternatives that can address the root causes of pollution. Although it is undeniable that the widespread use of cars is one of the main causes of the greenhouse effect, simply increasing the gas rate cannot solve the problem entirely. To be specific, a higher petrol price is unlikely to lower the number of automobiles on the street dramatically. As most people who can afford a car tend to have a decent income, a higher expense of driving would be ineffective to motivate them to give up the efficiency of driving. However, there are various practical methods that can mitigate environmental harm. Many types of widely-used sources of energy including fossil fuels and gas can have a damaging effect on our habitats. Hence, governments should invest more money and scientists need to dedicate more energy to discovering and popularizing environmentally-friendly resources. For example, wind and solar power can generate abundant power while having no negative effect on the environment. Moreover, the technology of electronic cars is becoming more and more mature and replacing traditional cars with this green power vehicle can significantly reduce the proportion of carbon dioxide in the air, which is the main factor of global warming. In conclusion, although driving up gas prices can reduce exhaust gas to some extent, discovering and spreading environmental energy resources is a better alternative to save the planet.