Some people think that it is important for nurses to have medical knowledge. Others think that other qualities are important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often believed that nurses ought to have knowledge pertaining to the medical field, whereas it is asserted by others that other traits are more significant. Although medical knowledge should definitely be a part of nursing courses, I agree with the latter notion and opine that some essential qualities apart from medical knowledge, should imperatively be possessed by them which include soft interpersonal and communication skills. To begin with, nurses should have adequate medical knowledge, as per a group of individuals. This means that not only should they have absolute command over common medical complaints, but they should also be able to apply the knowledge practically, since it is mainly the nurses who take care of patients’ medications prescribed by their doctors; for example, immense chaos was fomented when a nurse’s lack of sufficient knowledge led to the death of a patient in Karachi recently. Hence, had he been fully equipped with the required information, a precious life would have not been lost. Conversely, and as I opine, nurses should have superb soft skills and the ability to communicate. Using their words and actions, they should be able to provide patients with comfort and solace, thereby alleviating their distress to some extent. Their behaviour should be such that they are easily approachable to the ill. For instance, distinct interpersonal skills training courses have especially been designed in the US, which is obligatory for all nurses to attend; therefore, if the emotional needs of patients are considered, the significance of these skills is irrefutable. To conclude, it is frequently asserted that just the acquisition of medical knowledge is sufficient for nurses, whereas this opinion is highly disregarded by some. So, what are the other qualities that are crucial for nurses to possess? Despite the fact that the value of medical information can not be denied, I believe that exceptional interpersonal and communication skills are a must for them to have.