Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation’s history. However, some people think they should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

For the time being, maintaining old buildings has never failed to provoke controversial debates among people. While some claim that they should be protected by law because of its historical features, others say that knocking down the old buildings can make way for new houses and offices. In my opinion, maintaining old buildings is an optimal way to keep the history standing in the fast-paced society. Without a shadow of doubt, maintaining conventional buildings plays a paramount significance in the historical, archeological and economical values. For a period of time, our forefathers have built a wealth of architectural sites that create an integrity of landscape and characterize our nation. Through the traditional buildings. architects can have a useful resource of insights, which draws inspiration from their predecessors and builds a stronger sense of personal identity. Moreover, traditional construction styles coexisting with modernized buildings can add more charming weight to the landscape and attract more tourists’ attention, which becomes a main drive to an exponential thriving of tourism. The Old Quarter in Vietnam can be cited as a convincing example of the mingling that not only bridges the past and present history but also becomes a cultural heritage contributing huge profit to the economic situation. While the redeeming features of historical buildings are widely acknowledged, some traditional buildings should not be kept maintained on certain occasions. Regarding the conventional buildings are too run-down to renovate, they have a high possibility to vanish at any time and pose great dangers to pedestrians as well as visitors. Furthermore, some traditional architectural styles with low quality and unhygienic conditions can tarnish the beauty of landscape, which ruins the development of other facilities. Hence, old buildings which are poor in conditions should be knocked down to construct modern places that meet the ever-increasing demands of land to live for humans. In conclusion, the significance of maintaining old buildings is undeniable to keep the history alive in the way of progress and bring economic values while those tatty buildings should be brought down to erect new buildings.