Most countries want to improve the standard of living through economic development,however, others think social value is lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is every country ’s goal to facilitate its citizens through the rising of the standard of living. In order to achieve this, economic development is a must for most nations, which can lead to the possibility that the integrity of social value might be compromised, or even lost. To begin with, economic development improves the lives of many in various aspects. The living standard of individuals and the nation would greatly be improved. People from all walks of life would have easy access to services such as medical treatment and education. Moreover, the richer a nation is, the stronger its national defence would be. Thus, citizens of such countries would benefit greatly from the aforementioned services as well as the security and safety nurtured by the military. In addition, it is not only the citizens that can get the joint advantages of economic growth. The country would also take advantage of this development, in terms of popularity, prosperity and status. The more developed a country, the easier it is recognized on the world map, the more people want to be there. For instance, America is among the richest, most developed country in the world which people instantly have in mind when considering study, work and travel opportunities. Nevertheless, many people maintain that the loss of social values is traded for the growth of a country, which is a view I disagree with. These values are not constant, they are not a formula that citizens apply to in their daily life to fulfil their civic duties. Rather, social values are what we create as we live and grow with society. Thus, these values are always morphing, changing and adapting. For example, slavery was completely acceptable in the USA but now it is a matter of ethics. Therefore, I argue that social values are not about staying loyal to old beliefs, but rather about creating new ones while cherishing the old altogether. In addition, it is our responsibility to stay true to a nation’s former values while being able to make way for new ones. Museums and exhibitions are a way for people to remember their cultures’ past while leading their own lives in the present. In conclusion, the living standard can be improved through economic development while remaining the safety of social values. Hence the advantages of this situation clearly outweigh its drawbacks.