Social media has completely changed the way family and friends communicate with each other. What the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Recently, there is no doubt that social media has made a significant change in how family and friends communicate with each other. While there might be a few downsides to this development, I believe that it is a positive development. To begin with, the first reason for this development is that social media is affordable for everyone. This is because all social media platforms do not require a subscription to use and that includes all communication options such as text messaging and video calls. What is more, social media has decreased significantly the time needed to deliver messages. The reason for this is that thanks to high-speed internet connections, text messages can be sent anywhere in almost no time. Moreover, it is easy to meet anyone with no need to be physically in the same place. For example, in my country, many people can easily communicate with their family members and friends who are working overseas through Facebook Messenger. On the contrary, 20 years earlier, not everyone was able to contact anyone abroad because of the high cost of making international calls. In my opinion, the widespread of social media is a positive development because it can play a crucial role in our lives in the case of unusual events.To illustrate this, because of the current pandemic, all countries imposed travel restrictions and lock-downs. Nonetheless, people were able to stay in touch with each other and check up on their family and friends thanks to social media. As a result, many people were able to cope up with this current hardship because there were able to talk to their loved ones while they were not able to leave their homes. In conclusion, social media has changed the way people communicate with each other because it is free to use and its ability to deliver messages instantly. In my opinion, I believe it is a positive development because it can mitigate the effects of hard times.