Some parents say that children should play individually more than in a group. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this and include your own opinion.

These days, there are growing concerns regarding how children should spend their playing time. Many parents encourage their offspring to play alone rather than in a team. This essay will demonstrate how playing alone benefits the growth of children but will also show that this can lead to such problems as less competition and lower social interaction. Whilst acknowledging that there are some merits, the essay will argue that the disadvantages of self-playing outweigh the advantages. On the one hand, due to the advent of technology, children often spend their time alone playing on computer consoles and video games. This is because group sports are more competitive which creates stress among children if they fail to win the game. Moreover, while playing together, the competitive feel will make them behave rude and self-fish. For instance, it has been reported that team sports create a sense of aggression which in turn impacts the mental health of people. Furthermore, losing in group sports definitely cause demotivation among the players. Considering incidents such as this, parents often motivate their children to play alone rather than in a group. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages associated with this trend. Firstly, if students are not playing in a team, they will not develop cognitive skills like tolerance and sharing. Secondly, they will not be socially interactive with their surroundings which will have a negative impact on their adult life. Finally, competition is a natural instinct in every human being and we cannot survive in this world if we are not competitive. For example, everyone on this earth competes daily for better jobs and qualifications. Thus, involving in team sports is mandatory to develop our skills. To conclude, although playing alone prevents children from aggression and stress, it is beneficial to play in a group to learn social skills and develop competitive behaviour. Thus, in my opinion, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.