The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

Obesity among kids in developed states has risen by approximately twenty per cent in the last decade. In this essay, I discuss the causes and effects of this problematic distribution. First, children in western countries are exposed to high fat and sugar content which makes them prone to weight increases. Every other street in Europe has a McDonald's shop or ice cream spot with specific sights on these young people. Secondly, another cause is that a majority of these kids suffer from the lack of direct supervision from their parents who spend most of their time at work leaving them in the care of domestic workers. Young people refuse any instruction from domestic helpers or order them around; this is how they get hold of foods that increase their weight. As an illustration, my friend in Belgium once worked part-time as a nanny and told me that there was nothing she could do when the boy in her care demanded ice cream. The problem with this trend is that affected countries might have their health budgets constrained due to the rise in patients with obesity and other related ailments. This is why the French government, for instance, once encouraged older citizens to exercise with their offspring saying this practice is beneficial to both groups. Furthermore, another effect could be that of schools and other social spaces becoming centres of abuse and name-calling as the youthful population with big bodies interact with others. Stereotypes are never healthy for the functioning of a society. To illustrate this, the USA recently reported the tripling of suicide cases in a space of four months and stereotypes based on race and the size of the body were significant causes. In summary, therefore, the statistics on overweight children in western countries are not only alarming but also disturbing. This is because of the causes and effects I have discussed in the essay above. There is a need to attend to the situation as soon as possible.