Discipline is an ever increasing problem in modern schools. Some people think that discipline should be the responsibility of teachers, while others think that this is the role of parents. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

To talk about discipline, at first, it is important to make clear one of the definitions of this word: it is the ability to control your own behaviour, that you do what the community expects you to do. From this point, it helps us to orientate the responsible for disciplining people over their school lives, teachers, parents or - adding a new topic for this discussion - society. Learning begins inside of the womb when the baby is listening to different sounds, tasting new tastes or feeling the emotions of everyone around them. Parents are the first reference of offspring when they are learning about the world, they are the ones whom the young human will absorb all the examples and lessons, consciously and unconsciously. Every single action counts in the education of morals and values and it is reflected in future behaviours and decision-making. On the other hand, there is the valuable role of the second contact of the children's education, teachers. They have the job to guide and to positively influence students, stimulating their journey for knowledge, mainly when they give space for them to be themselves. In addition, there is another constant influence that young people have had since the beginning of their lives, the society. Nowadays this contact is increasing with the advance of technology, through television, mobiles, for example, and facility to meet other humans and form groups of the same lifestyle. These contacts open doors to absorb new examples of behaviours and they will complement the formation of the character and attitudes, consequently influencing discipline. Therefore, in a perfect world parents, schools and the community would work together to complement the education of children over the years, each one with their own role, respecting their spaces and keeping up with the advance of civilization in general.