Water is a valuable finite resource. Therefore, many suggest that it is best for the governments all over the world to control how much water their citizens use. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this suggestion?

Due to environmental degradation as well as the growing population, our planet is gradually running out of water resources. In order to resolve this problem, it is considered that controlling the amount of water that each citizen consumes is the best solution for all the governments around the globe. However, I highly doubt this policy's practicality, for it would occur a plethora of problems, and I find another approach much more effective to conduct. To begin with, water utilization restriction seems to cut down on the number of freshwater resources. Water plays an instrumental role in our lives, which makes up to 75% of our body, and it is an inevitable part of agricultural purposes, which accounts for two-thirds of freshwater in the world. If this valuable finite resource runs out, all creatures living on Earth will be wiped out. Therefore, it may be relatively possible to limit how much water each citizen use, as it may prevent wasting water, and raise awareness on the preservation of natural resources. Nevertheless, this suggestion only improves the situation temporarily, and it could not address the root of the issue. Limiting the water utilization means lowering the living conditions of the inhabitants, as well as decreasing the quality of agricultural products. Furthermore, water consumption varies greatly from person to person, which is impossible to measure a specific standard for residents. For instance, farmers' demand for water is always higher than those of city dwellers, as people in the countryside need more water for farming work. On top of that, there is another approach which I believe is more efficient. A good example is strictly prohibiting untreated waste dumping into the seawater. It is the main contributor to water pollution nowadays, which ultimately reduces drinkable for the inhabitants. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the suggestion of restricting water use for each resident is unrealistic, because it depends on each person's demand in the society, and there are more feasible solutions, which make it not the best one.