Many people are working longer hours. Why is this happening? What problems can this cause to people?

In recent years, working overtime has become an increasingly popular phenomenon in many countries. There are several explanations for this growing concern, which is having harmful impacts on individuals. To begin with, there are some reasons why employees have been working overtime these days. In an increasingly globalized marketplace, businesses have been competing to attain a prestige and quality position in the market. This causes an overload of work and staff are expected to assume a high volume of work to attain the daily task achievements, and lead to working additional hours. Furthermore, to satisfy the individual desires in work such as a raise of promotion and also a better salary, people have a tendency to meet their manager's expectations by doing excessive workflow as a good performance. For instance, in some IT companies, the IT developers spend on average more than 8 hours per day to do software projects instead of cooperating with their colleagues so that they could get a whole salary from these projects. Last but not least, with the increase of living quality such as the cost of daily basis expenses, education, hospital and so on, people have been facing financial problems, which lead to the choice of working overtime to earn a higher income. This phenomenon, however, could have some negative influences in terms of human physical well-being and mental health. People who work overtime have harmful impacts on their physical health. According to health research, a large number of white-collars who spend more than 10 hours a day sitting in offices suffer a higher risk of diseases such as heart attack, diabetes, as well as spinal injuries, arthritis and so on. Another aspect that should also be considered is the interaction between overloaded workers and their loved ones. As a result of spending less time with family members and friends, the overloaded workers not only weaken the bonds between them and others, but they are also becoming more stressed and depressed. In conclusion, it is thought that the job demands and living needs are principal reasons for an unhealthy and unbalanced life. Therefore, I believe that the government and organizations should have appropriate intervention to limit the weekly overtime standards of corporations.