Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one bog traffic jam'. How do you think this statement is true? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Over thirty years ago, people have bought cars in a high number in many countries for making life easy as well as luxiourous which causes alot of traffic jam on the roads. This statement is absolutely true because people have generated a habit of using cars. Numerous measures can be taken by government will be elaborated in the forthcoming paragraphs. In the beginning, first measure could be making the strict laws and regulations within the country to ensure general public start using public transports such as Buses,Trains, Metros etc. This can be done through passing a bill in the constitution like each and every person must commute through public transport modes thrice in a week otherwise it would be punishable or penalty can be charged instantly. Another aspect, a significant increase in prices of fuel, car parking too which can lead to reduce in traffic jams.If these cost will be hiked, so people stop using cars sooner. As additional cost will not be bear up by people. To sum up, high usage of other transport ways and hike of the cost for fuel as well as parking could discourage people to drive cars on the road. Therefore, there will be a very less chances of traffic jams.