Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. Do you agree or disagree?

It is claimed that music can gather people who have cultural and age differences. I disagree with this statement to some extent. On the one hand, I admit music as a universal language may unity people with differences. First, it could connect the majority through their emotions. For instance, when a piece of music become popular in the United States in English, after a while the noticeable number of people in the east, with another culture or even language, will hear it at the same time or with few weeks apart. This bond is created because they have similar feelings, such as sadness or happiness by hearing the same music. In addition, music can affect different age groups in the same way. To illustrate, Mohammed Reza Shajarian, an old traditional Iranian singer, has a noticeable portion of his fans, in young population in Iran, as well as elderlies. However, these potential functions are overshadowed by other factors. Firstly, music may help individuals to be connected with a universal language, such as English, but there are a large number of songs singing in other languages. Also, some cultures vary too much, and the gap is so huge which can not be filled by a song. Furthermore, the generation gap is becoming more every day, and due to that, taste of evey age is so different with the others. So these days, it is very uncommon that children listen to the same music that their parents do. In conclusion, despite the potential benefits of music in connecting various cultures and ages, I disagree that it unity them, efficiently.