Some people think that criminal behaviour has genetic causes. Others believe that it is circumstances that lead people to commit a crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is asserted by some people that the hereditary factors in having criminal behaviour are of great importance. However, personal and social circumstances are key elements that appear to have a number of proponents. Both sides present logical arguments which will be elucidated, followed by my own take on the matter. On the one hand, genes in commitment a crime take priority in some people’s opinion. The most important underlying justification is that the presence of some particular hormones and genes in people leads to breaking the law. Simply put, offenders tend to crimes instinctively since when they were born as well as doing wrong things always has been accompanied with them. An obvious example of this is sexual offenders who do not have any reasons for their wrongdoings since they just commit this by hereditary motivations. However, others advocate the idea of illegal behaviour of some lawbreakers as a result of personal and social circumstances. To begin with, some culprits were born in dysfunctional families with a lot of financial problems and cultural issues. Under this condition, individuals have more tendency for criminal actions. To be more precise, there is a strong correlation between committing offences and personal difficulties. Moreover, supporters of this idea claim that wrongdoers have not been educated due to cultural poverty and financial constricts. to put it another way, they do not have not only academic skills but also professional abilities. Therefore, they can not take the shoulder of any responsibilities in society. To conclude, I would tend to side with those supporting poor situations when it comes to committing an offence. It seems to be unreasonable to highlight the genetic factors in this regard and seems more logical to pay attention to conditions that lead to illegal activities amongst culprits.