More people put their personal information online (address, telephone number,…) for everyday activities such as socializing on social networks or banking purposes. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In the contemporary scenario, individuals’ data such as address or telephone number are easily revealed through daily activities relating to socializing or banking. Obviously, everything has both sides and this is not an exception. However, I believe that the advantage cannot overshadow its counterpart. On the one hand, this action brings some benefits based on its convenience. Thanks to the increasing development of digital technology, people are doing almost everything through advanced achievements, especially the Internet. Thus, some activities are done online, namely shopping or getting in touch with others, which requires publishing several pieces of information. For instance, if one wants to buy something online, they will have to provide their name, address and phone number or even their banking account’ data to finish all the stages including purchase and delivery. So having these types of data disclosed on an e-commercial site is conducive to the experience of consumers to a certain extent. On the other hand, not keeping those data in privacy could pose a threat to their owner unless they use it in an appropriate way. If the owners fail to protect their information from fraud or swindlers, it can be stolen through the little mistakes caused by carelessness when enjoying shopping online, for example. In comparison to making transactions in person in which one can have careful control over their possession and do not have to show their either personal or financial information when purchasing products, there is a negative relation since online-consumers have to face the serious security risks. All in all, not covering up the private data will wreak havoc on one’s security. In conclusion, I would opine that the given case would bring adverse impacts on people’s safety, hence they ought to keep their information away from some insecure online sites.