Robots are now doing more for people at home and in the workplace. Is this a positive or a negative trend?

Nowadays, an increasing number of tasks, ranging from domestic house chores to job-related workloads, are completed by automated robots. At the same time, however, there is uncertainty whether this trend is advantageous or disadvantageous. In this essay, I will review both sides to seek a conclusion. To begin with, there is no doubt that domestic robots, such as robot vacuum cleaners and robot lawn mowers, make people’s lives more convenient and enjoyable. To illustrate, dwellers no longer need to spend considerable time and energy cleaning and weeding, thereby having more spare time to unwind, accompany their children, and strengthen family connections. Furthermore, industrial robots not only boost productivity efficiently but also promote the occupational health of human laborers by taking over dangerous and repetitive workloads. For example, Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company utilizes automated machines to produce high-quality chips and has become the pioneer of chip-manufacturing corporations. On the other hand, as automated machines execute most unwanted domestic loads, children may take a clean and tidy environment for granted. That means it eventually decreases their opportunities to develop problem-solving skills and a sense of responsibility. Moreover, automation threatens the livelihood of blue-collar workers because machines can actively operate without taking a rest, which will ultimately take over human laborers’ roles in mass production factories. To summarize, there is no doubt that both household robots and industrial automated machines bring convenience and safety to our daily life and work environment. At the same time, however, it also deprives young learners of educational opportunities and reduces workers’ job prospects. In the final analysis, therefore, one can conclude that over-reliance on automation is a negative trend because of the threat to human livelihood, which is an existential factor for people of all ages.