Getting promotion is one of the biggest driver for people to apply to themselves and work hard in the modern workplace. Why do you think people are so driven to get promotion? What other factors influence people to work hard?

Promotion is claimed to be the most significant motivation for employees to work hard. Although the reasons may differ, the majority of the workers desire to get promoted in pursuit of a better salary and hence, superior living standards. Besides, greater respect in society and assurance of job security are other constituents that contribute to the diligent efforts of employees. To begin with, increased income is one of the mainsprings of getting promoted. This means that elevation of rank is the only means of satisfying needs by offering a lucrative income, thereby improving the quality of life in general; for example, according to a recent survey conducted in the US, a larger percentage of the employees stated that it is the desire of sustaining a better life in this era of surging inflation that eventually pushes them to work hard for promotion. Therefore, had it not been for the superior monetary benefits, the wish to get promoted would have not become so crucial in recent times. Apart from this, certain other elements also incline people to hard work. The unprecedented success that is brought about by the dedicated efforts leads to better recognition and hence greater esteem in society. Furthermore, in this world of ever-soaring competition, a secure place in a company is only guaranteed if there is maximum productivity; the failure to achieve this not only leads to demotion but can also result in loss of job. For instance, during the COVID-19 pandemic which led to a global shutdown and a rampant rise in unemployment, only the workers who were immensely hardworking and diligent managed to keep their jobs secure. To conclude, uplifting of position at a job has become the topmost priority in any sector nowadays. But why has the need of getting promoted become so essential? It is for the rise in monetary remunerations that promotion has become desirable to such an extent. However, the quest for greater regard in community and job security also drive the people to work hard, besides promotion.