Some people think that the development of technology helps to reduce crime, while other people think that it encourages crime. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There is an argument whether the development of technology helps to reduce crime or encourages it. This essay will discuss both perspectives. First of all, technology has been improving at a fast pace over the decades. One of the technologies that come to the surface is a facial recognition system. For example, polices can use the system to detect criminals from all over the city in a matter of hours. Furthermore, DNA testing is also happening thanks to technology. It helps identify true offenders and is considered to be a big piece of evidence in the court. On the other hand, it also provides an opportunity for cybercrime in terms of hacking for personal information. There is an exertion in hacking cases over the years. Nowadays, people attempt to seek easy money which sometimes they turn to take advantage of others. During browsing websites or using social media, it can be noticed that when searching about certain items, those things will come up in their social media as an advertisement. This is called cross-website hacking, in which big companies, like Meta, would use users' information for a marketing scheme. As a result, it allows the leaking of a person's data. In conclusion, if it is used appropriately, it can be highly beneficial. However, strict rules and regulations in the digital world are recommended to ensure safe usage and minimize possible drawbacks. For instance, in my point of view, it is worth the risks as benefits win over adverse effects if being used properly.