In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion about this?

In recent years along with the tremendous growing population, housing as a primary need of any individual is more necessary than ever. Considering the scarcity of free land within the borders of urban areas, it appears that building new residences in outskirts is inevitable which in turn raises the concern of environmentalists who believe that these areas should be protected. Although it is easier said than done, it seems that conserving these areas is more important than expanding residential places. Human being has spread throughout the earth and built his home in every habitat. These residential regions mostly interfere with the lives of other species, leaving them small rooms to survive. As a tangible result, in none-protected areas species like wolves and panthers who are used to living in vast plain areas are pushed to the edge of extinction and suffer from vulnerable conditions due to their habitat destruction. Hence, it is necessary to reserve some areas as the buffer zones to prevent more interference with other animals. Additionally, green spaces are vital for providing fresh air for crowded areas. Nowadays green belts are convenient ways of supplying air for polluted cities like New Delhi which suffers from air pollution and has no open space for planting new trees inside the city. Therefore, protecting these spaces on countryside is immensely vital. To conclude, although constructing new houses to settle the growing population of urban areas is inevitable, building houses in the city outskirts is not the answer, since it is the region that matters both from the environmental conservation point of view and as the supplier of clean air for city dwellers.