It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

As we all know, children are the hopes of every family that they will grow into a good person and have pleasant behaviour. It is immensely important for a growing kid to distinguish between right and wrong at an early stage. With regard to this, some people believe that punishment is necessary in order to make children know these differences. Nevertheless, I completely disagree with this statement. This essay will provide the arguments in detail. First and foremost, it is undeniable that it is crucial for every child to differentiate the positive and negative behaviour. However, punishment will not be the solution to help children learn the good and bad in their lives. This is because punishing children is considered an abusive act towards them. Young people grow by exploring life and it is completely fine for them to make several mistakes. Besides, most of their faults are not intentional. Thus, penalties for their misbehaviours will only cause more pain to them and will not bring any logical solution to their mistakes. For example, when a child accidentally broke glassware at home and he or she is being beaten by the mother. Consequently, this may only build hatred towards his or her mother. Another reason to oppose the idea of punishment is that it is not fair to only put the blame on children for their mistakes when parents themselves are not a good example at home. They should be a role model by showing good behaviour to their children. This is due to the fact that children often imitate their parents. They tend to do what they have observed and speak what they have heard. To illustrate, if a couple at home had an argument and spoke unpleasant words to each other, the child who observed that situation will attempt to speak the same words used by them. Although parents always ensure their kids obey the rules set by them and behave well, the behaviour of the child is always affected by the circumstances. To conclude, even though it is important for children to learn good and bad actions, penalties are never necessary for them. Even if in some situations, parents or teachers have no other option but to punish children, soft punishment such as restricting them from using their favourite items would do, but not violent punishments.