Many manufactured food and drink contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that consumer products are made with large amount of sugar, which causes many health problems. I agree that the good solution to encourage people to consume less sugar is to increase the price of sugary products, but also there are some doubts about this action. Increasing the price of unhealthy products by implementing excise duties is very common in a large number of countries, becoming a proven method in discouraging people from living unhealthy. For example, an increase in the price of tobacco resulted in a decrease in a number of smokers. However, there are concerns about the way it will affect producers and customers and how it will affect the industry. The question is, if companies experience a reduction in sales, how long they will need to recover and adapt to a new situation so they can stay in business. On the other hand, If the program is implemented correctly and announced in advance, it will serve the purpose, and people will consume sugary products less, while companies will have time to adopt in a new business environment. Therefore, firms might change their products and use different inputs so their foods and drinks could be healthier and not subject to excise duties. Thus, this model could be an excellent solution, because it could force producers to make better products and compete with each other in different directions such as making delicious but healthy products. Overall, producing and consuming unhealthy products is an increasing trend, and the right solution is critically needed to stop it. In my opinion, raising the prices of sugary products could have a great impact, but it should be implemented in the right way