TASK 2: In many countries, international tourism has become an important source of income. However, it also has negative effects. Do the benefits of international tourism outweigh the disadvantages?

While global tourism has significantly improved multiple nations’ GDP, it exerts adverse effects. The following essay will analyse both of these aspects and overall I advocate that the advantages take precedence over the disadvantages. The principal issue with a dramatic increase in international tourism is the harm to the environment and tangible cultural heritage caused by tourists. This is because of the unconsciousness of travellers to litter discriminately, vandalise or thieve as well as annihilate the legacy. According to recent research, most beaches in Vietnam have become polluted and full of rubbish due to the overload of intercontinental tourists and the statistics is believed to be worse over time unless the governments confine tourism amount or establish strict protection laws to the beaches. Otherwise, these beaches will be longer in use and the investment used to recover those values in the future will be extremely pricey. Consequently, international tourism has negative influences on the country's economy, environment and cultural values. On the other hand, international tourism encourages the country’s social and economic growth as it provides several job opportunities to local residents. This will reduce the unemployment rate which could mitigate the social crimes caused by the lack of income. Thanks to the tourism development in Phu Quoc, 75% of residents had been able to escape impoverishment and 89% of local people had basic literacy knowledge by the end of 2019. As a result, the living standard of various families has improved. Not only can global tourism stimulate the GDP growth of some countries to improve their economy and society but it also advertises the national image to worldwide publicity as it assists to bring the national cultural values closer to foreigners. In conclusion, despite the possible adversity which I believe is possible to tackle by previous recommendation, the positive impact of international tourism on the countries outweighs the negativity.