Some people believe that children’s leisure activities must be educational, otherwise they are a complete waste of time. Do you agree or disagree ?

It is widely known that the young generation’s activities in their free time have to be enlightening, or else they are absolutely time-consuming. Although a number of people would consider it reasonable, I totally disagree with the given statement and this essay will outline the reasons for my personal opinion. The main reason that I do not support the given trend is that the principal purpose of leisure activities should be a way of relaxation by their own choices or hobbies. To be more specific, during their free time, they can unwind themselves by reading books, being glued to their favourite appropriate tv show or tuning in some catchy and soothing melody from their beloved artists’ songs. As a result, these relaxing treatments will help them ease the stress caused by hours of hard studying. Moreover, another reason why the fact that every leisure pursuit is educational is sometimes unbeneficial would be that the children have to deal with the pressure which can result from parents and schools. For instance, according to a recent survey, parents often send their kids to extracurricular piano classes after school. However, the children can barely unwind by them because of their uninterest in those lessons. Consequently, for being overloaded, they can feel frustrated, become conservative and might establish dependency on others’ decisions. In conclusion, I strongly consider that the necessity of education in children’s leisure action might bring massive negativities in the growth of the young generation. Therefore, it is highly recommended that parents should find suitable activities which their kids can both enjoy and be educated during their free time.