With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people think that it is a good speed forward, while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Although the increase in the use of e- books alongside a decline in paper books are thought by some to be a positive development, other people do not agree with this view. E- books are more portable and environmentally friendly; however, there are also drawbacks to be taken into account. Firstly, one benefit of digital books is related to their mobile feature. The contemporary technological advances have enabled people to download a large number of books into small devices, some of which can even be carried in a pocket. As a consequence, students or book lovers no longer need to carry a heavy paper book while travelling or commuting. Secondly, using e- books is advantageous because they are eco-friendly as opposed to conventional ones. In other words, their production does not require to fell trees, which filter the atmosphere by emitting Oxygen and absorbing Carbon Dioxide. Hence, the widespread use of e- books would decrease the levels of deforestation, making a positive contribution to air quality. Conversely, one problem when e- books are used is that reading them regularly may damage the eyesight. More precisely, the readers` eyes are exposed to a constant supply of light while reading these books, leading to the gradual deterioration of the vision. Another drawback is that the gadgets to read digital books may contain some potential distractions. For instance, if one studies an online textbook on their smartphones for a crucial exam, any message or notification coming from social media can easily distract their attention. In conclusion, e- books are a constructive technological innovation but not without negative impacts. More clearly, while replacing paper books with e- books can bring about some benefits, it may, also be harmful to the readers` vision and concentration.