Young people are often influenced by their peers. This is called peer group pressure. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Teenagers are mostly influenced by their age groups, which in other words is called peer pressure. This is the stage of life where young adults are learning and getting to know themselves. This essay shares the sentiments that the disadvantages are more than the advantages, and this will be discussed below. Firstly, as young folks, they are still in their learning stages of development. Since these are their formative years, they are willing to learn anything and willing to take any risks, as such any wrong habits or actions done by their colleagues could be imbibed and it becomes a problem later on in life. For instance, it has been shown that many youngsters that started smoking did so not because they wanted to, but because they saw their friends doing it. As such it shows that the impact of their friends' behaviour, which in this case is negative, rubbed off on them. Secondly, most teenagers in this age group are still doubting themselves. This is mainly because they are still trying to figure out who they are and trying to discover themselves, however, we do have some of them that have grown beyond this stage and would pick on the others. This effect usually impacts the social outlook of the others picked on, making them depressive. To buttress this point, quite a lot of youngsters try to hurt themselves because of negative remarks made about them by their friends; while some outgrow it, others don't and it affects their adult life in general. Such impact is not healthy for young adults. Finally, youngsters do influence themselves and it is called peer group pressure. This essay has analysed and agreed with the point that the disadvantages are higher than the advantages.