Some people believe that children can learn effectively by watching TV and they should be encouraged to watch TV both at home and school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, new media becomes increasingly popular in people’s life. In this regard, it is necessary for the young generation to watch TV programs in order to promote them to study efficiently, wherever they are, such as at home or in education institutions. As far as I am concerned, I strongly disagree with this view. On the one hand, if children watched programs of explicit content, it would be harmful to their mental and physical health. Due to a majority of the young generation are lacking the ability to identify which shows are beneficial or unhealthy, it is inevitable for them to watch some adult movies or violent videos. Unfortunately, some children might imitate unpleasant behaviors, their misbehave would highly influence daily routine, such as staying up late, taking drugs, robbing, and so on, which will affect children ’s performance in school and being criticized by unfriendly words. On the other hand, I do believe that watching TV would influence children ’s studies. It is noted that a large number of programs are educated, which teach children fundamental knowledge. However, children might watch entertainment shows without supervision from their parents. So that, young children would spend plenty of time on these recreation videos rather than educational digital media, worse, they would not finish their homework on time, or maybe be ineffective on finishing individual projects. In conclusion, if parents could control what their children are watching in context, and reasonably arrange time limited, I think this way will benefit children development and be better for them to have the awareness to self study some profound information.