Open plan office no walls no barriers . Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages ?

Currently, the organisation of an office has provoked a debate among people. It is argued that the workplace should be built in an open concept with no walls and barriers. While this thinking is valid to a certain extent, I believe that its benefits cannot overshadow its drawbacks. To begin with, an open workplace has brought a redeeming feature to employees. Without any obstacles at work, workers can have more interactions and conversations with their colleagues leading to a better understanding as well as cultivating relationships among them in the firm. For instance, in a workplace with no walls, employees can easily ask for help from their co- workers in some job-related information so that their relationship can be increased significantly. Consequently, working in an open office can do wonders for workers. Although the aforementioned merit is widely acknowledged, working in an environment with no walls and barriers also has a negative impact on workers. Because of working in the same office, staff are usually surrounded by a wealth of people, which can sometimes distract their attention from work. As a result, they will perform less productively in the company. Specifically, if a department of an enterprise holds a party in the office after signing a successful contract, other employees have to suffer from irritations and distractions caused by the noise of the celebration. Hence, it is irrefutable that an open-working area can trigger an undesirable influence on workers. In conclusion, despite having a positive advantage to employees, open offices should not be encouraged in corporations due to their undesirable downsides.