Some people think that fresh water should be freely available, while others believe governments should tightly control the use of fresh water as it is limited resource. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some suggest that water should be free of charge to everyone, while others believe that government should impose restrictions on water usage. Both sides of the argument will be discussed in this essay, followed by my own perspective on this matter. On the one hand, those who advocate free access to water think that water plays an indispensable role in people's daily lives so everyone should have the right to use it for free. To be specific, water helps human beings' bodies to function properly so that we can survive and scientists have also proven that sufficient water intake can improve concentration and memorization. Hence, individuals should not be charged for fulfilling their basic needs. Moreover, water costs could take a large proportion of disposable income for some big but less well-off families, which can cause a budget crisis. Therefore, eliminating water charging can significantly decrease the daily expenses of low-income families and bridge the gap between haves and have-nots. On the other hand, although every citizen should have free access to water, it is not an appropriate approach that people do not need to pay for it at all. Firstly, governments have to invest a significant amount of money in constructing water filtering and delivering systems. Thus, free water could impose a financial burden on governments and pose a threat to the construction of other public facilities such as schools and hospitals, which is essential to citizens' lives. Additionally, some people tend to use water inconsiderably because they take this free resource for granted, consequently causing water shortage and devastating our planet. From my perspective, governments have the obligation to solve water scarcity and provide water rate allowance for some poor families. However, they need to search for more practical and sustainable approaches rather than simply offer free water to everyone since this policy has so many drawbacks.