Nowadays, a lot of offices employ open-space designs instead of separate rooms for work. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It has been pointed out that the designs of offices have been changed, and open space has been taken over separate rooms in a massive proportion of organizations currently. Personally, I opine that this alternation brings out health benefits to employees, which surpasses the downside in terms of companies’ economy. Nevertheless, the drawback below, open-space working place is beneficial to staff regarding their mental and emotional well-being significantly. The reason is that when the members of a company are working in a sharing area, they are more likely to talk about their personal secrets or working problems with each other on a regular basis, which enhances their sense of community, lowering the risk of suffering from mental issues. For instance, employees who are working in an accounting firm say that they felt lonely and anxious as they worked in their individual offices and communicated with their colleagues less in the past, which was extremely stressful. However, after redesigning their working space, the open space provides them with a vast majority of opportunities to interact with their team members, thus releasing their working stress. Admittedly, open-space offices have a minor detriment to economic benefits for corporations. This is because employees are more likely to be disturbed by their fellows easily when working in an area, so they are unable to concentrate on their own tasks for a longer time period, which makes staff work with lower productivity, thus resulting in a negative impact on companies’ profit. For example, a significant number of senior executives mention that they realize their profits and income experience a downward trend after altering their offices’ design as they find their staff always talk about personal gossips while working, thus lowering their concentration toward jobs. In conclusion, although people may vary in their opinion about shifting the working place to an open-space room has more advantages or not, I am of the opinion that this change has a crucial benefit to individuals’ mental health, which exceeds the downside to organizations.