Living in a country where you speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement ? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Residing in a country with a different language undoubtably cause immense social and pratical political problmes. I totally agree with this assertion due to the huge difficulty encountered by persons living in a foreign state in communicating with people and also the tendency of being seen as an outsider by the natives of the country which inturn can breed racism. First and formost for most, it is pertinent to note that communication is an indispensible tool in human exsistence beacuse it aids human relations and reduces misundertandings which in turn enhances harmony. A foreigner who does not speak the indegenious language of where he or she is located is bound to stuggle seriously in all aspects of life with interacting with people. A vivid example comes to mind of my experience when I was posted to work in the northern speaking part of Nigeria where Hausa language was prevalent. I knew nothing about the language so it was very dreadful for me interacting with the locals in the market places, and shops beacuse most people lacked the patience to speak with me using sign language. Secondly, experiencing racism may not be far fetched as a result of not being able to understand the lingua franker of a given state where one is domiciled in. Indegenious persons of a given country have the tendency to be suspicious of foreigners who may not share anything in common with them and this leads to lack of acceptance and williness to cooperate. To drive this point home, a study conducted by the United Kingdom population commission found out that 45 per cent of foreigners were recially really abused which affected the psychology of the visitors, there by distorting thier mental health. To conclude, it is a given from the above discuss that persons living in a foreign country definitely struggle with communicating with their environment and also face pactical problems like racial discrimination which is mentally harmful to thier wellbeing.