Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Sugary food and drinks manufactured are very popular nowadays even if they are not for our health. Although I agree that people may be prevented from consuming much sugar by higher prices, I do not think that making those sugary products expensive is a practical way. People will consume less sugar since most of them have a constantly fixed income. They have to carefully manage their expense monthly, especially when they are bearing a burden of loans. Therefore, they should lower the amount they buy when the price of sugar goes higher. In addition, sugary products are not of crucial necessity to human beings, unlike protein or nutrition. People will consume necessary products in advance if their budgets are tight. For example, when the price of pork goes higher, people tend to eat more rice and vegetables instead of meat. Also, sugary products of higher prices motivate people to seek for their alternatives. They may eat more fruits instead of manufactured sugary products. However, the price of products is mainly depending on the balance between supply and demand. This means that a price rise may lead to a decrease in the sales of sugary products, which will lower the profit of the companies. As a result, companies are not willing to follow the rules. Furthermore, people may sacrifice their budget for other goods to maintain their expense on sugar. For example, those who are keen on dessert may consume less healthy food like vegetables due to their increased spending on sugar, which will result in more serious health problems. In conclusion, raising the price of manufactured sugary products may contribute to less sugar consumed by people. However, there are many difficulties in front of such kind of measure. It is better to look for more practical approaches to guide people out of too much sugar.