It is becoming more and more difficult to escape the influence of the media on our lives. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living in a media rich society.

Some people believe that escaping from the media's influence on our life, has become very difficult. In this essay, I will discuss the received topic and give my personal opinion on this matter. Firstly, I will describe the advantages of being a part of a mass communication society and secondly I will write about the disadvantages of this situation. Media represent a central focus in our culture, it is a main information source around the world. It has become easy to pass data from one part of the globe, despite the distance between countries. For example, thanks to the internet and easy connection between countries we can predict and prevent future's possible attacks from other nations, based on information we receive through the media. However, like many,truths we can find on social portals and television programmes as much fake news, which can cause problems such as miscommunication issues and worsen the relationship between countries. On the other hand, more and more is observed imbalance and overuse of social platforms, television and radio as a main source of knowledge. For this reason, people become more disconnected from their intuition and common sense and blindly depend upon data's transmitters. Many times their whole life is dictated by others' personal opinions and ways of life. For instance, one's uniqueness is replaced by unconscious mass behaviour. We do things in order to fit society's model represent by the press, furthermore forgetting about our true self and needs which are usually completely different to what politicians and people in power want us to do. In conclusion, I believe that media costs more harm than good, in spite of their effectiveness in passing important news. I think we are controlled, our choices are influenced by public and press propaganda.