The increasing housing problem in big cities has social consequences. Some people say that only government can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a fact that population density and the increasing figure of housing have created some social problems in many large downtowns. A group of people believe that the issue could only be solved by the ministry. I personally agree with the statement and the following essay will discuss it in detail. It is true that the increasing population in large downtowns such as Jakarta, New York or Beijing has created some social issues. Firstly, as the demand for houses in big cities increase, the price of properties has risen by double or triple in the past few years. This situation has affected the middle and lower-income class, as they could not afford to buy houses in the city. Most of them purchase properties in the more developed fields of the city and, consequently they have to spend more money on transportation to the workplace. Secondly, the high demand for housing space has created some environmental issues. As more houses are built in the downtown, the total of parks and trees become lesser and lesser these days. As we all know that trees are beneficial for human beings, as they produce oxygen and absorb pollution. Consequently, air pollution in these cities has become worst than ever these days and the number of people who have respiration problems has increased. In order to restore these conditions, it is the authority task to restructure the city, as they are the one who has the power and the authority. The ministry should stop giving new permits to city developers. They should expand and develop a new field, therefore some of the city ’s people will move to the new area and it will gradually reduce the density problem. And then, the government should set strict regulations about developing new real estate in the city, as there should be a proportionate ratio between building and green space in the city. With a proportionate number of parks and buildings, it is hoped the city became greener and cleaner. In conclusion, I agree that it is the government task to solve the social consequences of the density issue. As they have the power and the authority to resolve the issue, they should set measurable campaigns and programs to resolve the problems.