Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that modern developments in medicine and engineering are advanced so far because of the application of scientific methodologies by the researchers. However some argue that this research practices should be only conducted by the goverments governments while protesters demanding that private sectors should lead the way. One of the driving factor in the area of research is the availbility of funding, therefore supporters suggest that goverment agencies are in a better position initiate the process. This is because research facilities such as laboratries are usually expensive and their maintenance incur substantial amount of money. Moreover, private companies may not be interested in those projects without immediate returns, such as space exploration spearheaded by NASA. If the all the space research is left to the private entities, there may never be any significant progress made in the advancement of rocket technologies. Therefore, goverment should decide which area of study should receive the larger share of the money necessary for the research. On the other hand, it can be argued that most government ministries are mired in unnecessary bureaucracies. This is because of the hierarchical structures of the government takes time to process even the smallest matters in every step of the approval process. For example, stem cell research on human which has a potential to cure cancer and replace organs is strictly banned by most goverment movement out of the fear that this could result in the impairment of human sanctity. Such restrictions could impede the progress of medical research. Conversely, if the research matter is freely allowed to the private companies, the free market economy would bring the most efficient and cost-effective technologies in the relatively short period of time. In summary, while goverments government play an important role in funding the research for the betterment of science and technologies, I believe that the efficiency and directness of the private organizations should be taken into account as well.