Some people believe that studying for a university degree is better for an individual’s career than gaining work experience immediately after high school. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

In the current century, the job market has been taken on another level as the requirements for each position has changed than in the past. There is a controversial opinion when it comes to choosing between having a university degree and gaining work experience just after high school. This essay will demonstrate why this question is case-by-case dependent. First and foremost, a degree is mandatory for many jobs as it demands specific knowledge and training. Before thinking about work experience, certain areas necessitate much theory and practice before getting into the field. For instance, medical doctors need to be formed before really starting. We cannot only imagine placing people's destinies between the hands of someone who did not graduate but also that the governments will let those people work without a certification. The same case is for other positions as architects, engineers, and lawyers. On the other hand, we cannot deny that many people succeeded without a university degree. Other sectors do not eventually need a diploma and therefore gaining work experience would be more interesting and fruitful in order to develop many skills that would not be mastered in the universities. A concrete example is Steve Jobs who was Apple's founder. Steve did not get an engineering bachelor to be one of the most successful and wealthiest people in the United States of America. To sum up, a university degree is an obligation for many positions while it can be an option for others. Depending on what each of us is passionate about we need to fit into the system.