In many countries, people do not recycle waste materials, such as paper, glass, and cans. What are the reasons for this? What could be done to solve this problem?

In the modern world, there are still some countries, which citizens are not engaged in the recycling process. Two main reasons for that situation are lack of infrastructure and ignorance of knowledge. To solve this problem, the government should launch social programs explaining the importance of recycling, as well as increasing the number of separate garbage collection points. Speaking about the reasons, sometimes people are not informed enough why it is important to divide rubbish into categories or do not even know that it is easy and could be done by anyone. In addition, those, who know about that process, do not have a lot of facilities for collecting and distinguishing waste materials. According to the research of the Russian online newspaper “Meduza”, more than a half of the population of my country prefer not to divide rubbish because it seems difficult for them. Moreover, even in,Moscow there are only a few points, where you can hand over the garbage for further usage or recycling. And the situation is worse in far regions. The solution for this problem might be spreading the information or leaflets showing how landfills with plastic bottles and bags, glass or paper packaging hurt the environment and how this issue can be solved by recycling. Also, cities’ administration should add more opportunities for the correct utilization. For instance, for the last,year the number of posters in the Moscow Subway illustrating ecological problems has grown. Now you can see them on almost every train next to the doors. Furthermore, the private company “RusEco” added special stands for different types of waste material in remote neighbourhoods of Moscow. In conclusion, sometimes people do not care about the environment due to their unawareness of the situation or due to the absence of special places for recycling. The problem will be fixed if the government starts educating citizens and adds more infrastructure for eco-activists.