Some say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group acitivities in their free time. Others say that this is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In modern society, there are many ways for individuals to spend their free time. While some believe that parents should encourage their children to attend group activities in their free time, others think that it is important for the young to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. It is clear that although both views have positive aspects, group activities have more benefits for kids. The first aspect to point out is that attending public organisations has more benefits for the young. As children work together, they will develop many skills. For example, if a child takes part in an organised group activity, they will learn how to communicate with others. As a result, they will also learn the importance of respecting others which is a vital aspect of society. Additionally, working as a group requires their patience which is often said that the young are missing nowadays. Therefore, children should be encouraged to join in group activities when they have free time. Another important issue is that there are a few positive points for the young to learn how to occupy themselves. For instance, they can improve their creativity as there is no one to control their time and activities. Additionally, there will be fewer competitions among the others, thus, one can spend their time freely. However, it can be boring for them because they tend to be enthusiastic to interact with others. If a child kept occupying their free time by themselves, they would have fewer friends which have a negative impact on their social development. To conclude, despite the fact that spending free time alone has a few positive points, taking part in organised group activities have more benefits for the youths. Therefore, parents should encourage their children to attend these group activities when they have free time.