Companies spend millions each year on advertising online, in magazines and on billboards. These adverts can encourage people to buy goods that they don not really need.

Most businesses channel their money to social online platforms, such as magazines and on billboards, to advertise their services or products. As a result of these advertisements, individuals tend to purchase unnecessary things. Even though advertisements can assist businesses to penetrate markets, customer over-purchasing is being observed remarkably these days, and that trend does have adverse effects on nature. Now we will discuss the pros and cons of consumerism. On one hand, the main advantage of consumerism is that being no lack of necessities can give us that more freedom to be inspired and innovated. Let me give an example, if we can’t get our fundamental human needs, we will focus on the unsatisfied needs and not have enough time and energy to think about others’ curious advances. Furthermore, anyone with satisfied necessities will be able to develop itself and gain some other cultures and knowledge. On the other hand, excessive consumption caused by advertisements is veritable harmful to natural resources and climate change, which is a drawback of that. For instance, these days climate change is exacerbated significantly by producing various types of products and utilizing fossil fuels to generate energy. In addition, the big minds of today started to take actions to reduce the overconsumption of people in order to save the natural environment and combat climate change. In conclusion, the advertisement does have a real effect on purchasing selection, it is an unarguable truth of these days. Also, having satisfied needs can be beneficial to inspiring ideas and developments, but the thing that should be considered and concerned is the side effects on the environment of consumerism.