Many pschologists recommend that the best way to relieve stress is to do nothing at all for a period of time during the day. Do you agree or disagree?

One of the most pressing issues for first world countries is how to reduce their stress levels and this has led some psychologists to propose a daily period of rest. Although I think that daily rest would be helpful, it is more important to take an active role in stress relief. Firstly, proponents of a vacation period suggest that taking a break has proven health benefits related to stress reduction. For instance, it is very common in Latin American countries and some Southeast Asian countries to take an afternoon ‘siesta’ or short nap before resuming work. Research has supported the myriad health benefits related to this relaxing period. It lowers blood pressure, increases serotonin in the brain, and aids memory function. Other than that, it is being proved that having 15 minutes intermission after 1 hour of studies not only help to reduce stress but also help individuals boost both short term and long term memory. Ploughing on without breaks, on the contrary, can lead to an increase in pressure and has been linked to related health problems. Instead of taking a rest, I believe that joining a team sport will do more to relieve stress. Doctors and scientists agree that exercise is the best way to cut down on the mental burden overall. In most parts of the world, football is the most common sport both to watch and participate in. For example, playing football reduces your stress by releasing endorphins in the brain that make people happier, strengthening the heart to better withstand stressful situations, and helping people to relax by working in a team towards a shared goal. The teamwork aspect cannot be underestimated, and is integral to most sports, as it does more to reduce pressure and reset your body for a new day than any other activity. In conclusion, although taking a rest certainly helps reduce stress, the best way to unwind is to play a sport. People should set aside time at least once a week to partake in team sporting activities.