in some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. it is therefore necessary for government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. to what extent do you agree or disagree whit this opinion.

It has been noted that increased consumption of fast foods in some continents has led to a good number of people suffering from medical conditions. Will it be beneficial for the government to impose measures to cab the overuse of such products? I partly disagree with this statement. My position is articulated further in the essay below. To begin with, I believe that it is a personal initiative to decide on eating such goods in moderation in order to evade some illnesses. For instance, if the government imposes higher taxes on fast foods with the intention of controlling consumption, this may not be a problem to some wealthy individuals because they may still have adequate funds to acquire them despite the high taxes. Further still, this act by the government to impose higher taxes may infringe the rights of its citizens. For example, we have individuals in our community who eat in moderation and therefore imposing taxes may make the product inaccessible even for those who are keen on keeping fit. On the contrary, there is also a possibility that the government's act of imposing taxes on fast foods may lead to a declining number of medical conditions arising from such cuisine. This is true to some extent as it may control access to such products due to a lack of adequate funds to consume them more frequently. In conclusion, therefore, I appreciate the fact that it is an indivudual's responsibility to watch our eating habits as this may directly affect one's health, however, as I discussed in the essay, governments involvement by hiking the taxes on such commodities may lead to a healthier nation.