A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world?

Tourism is one of the favourite sectors to generate income for many places around the world. However, if there is no proper management, tourism could also give a negative impact on society. This essay would suggest that creating job employment is one of the advantages of the tourism sector. By contrast, damaging the environment is a drawback of tourism development. There is some potential economy from the tourism sector as there would demand from tourist to buy the local stuff where they travel. Obviously, it will be developing many job creations for the local community. For example, the local people will tend to produce some local stuff, such as traditional foods, clothing, souvenirs, etc. Additionally, many hotels are built and rented for travellers that will also create some job opportunities for waitresses, hotel officers, etc. This factor will have a positive impact on the local society to raise the local economy. On the other hand, a side effect of the tourism sector if its development increase significantly is environmental damage. Many tourism sides are located in the natural environment and many of them are exploited by private or public institutions without considering natural preservation. Thus, it will affect the environmental problem. For instance, before Kuta beach, one of the beautiful beaches in Bali, was opened for the public, the sand and the water were very natural and clean. But, after the government officially open and declare that Kuta beach is one of the recommended destinations for tourists, the environment become worse. This is one of the negative effects if the tourism side could not be maintained properly. In conclusion, the tourism sector will be generating many job creations, as a result, it will create a good opportunity for a certain place to improve the livelihood of the local community. However, tourism also has a drawback which can have a potential impact of environmental damage if it is not managed correctly.