Today more people are overweight than ever before. What in your opinion are the primary causes of this? What are the main effects of this epidemic?

Nowadays the number of people is becoming increasingly overweight. This essay will discuss the reasons for this epidemic and describe the possible effects of this problem. In my opinion, the first and foremost reason is an inactive lifestyle and unhealthy eating habits. Today more and more people rely on cars instead of walking in the daily routine, have fewer physical demands at work and prefer inactive leisure activities. This results in burning fewer calories and thus gaining more weight. Moreover, the problem is accentuated by a growing number of people who eat irregularly, prefer to eat junk food and consume a large portion of high-calorie food. For example, about 50 percent of people in Europe with so-called eating suffered from obesity. On the other hand, the possible effects of this problem lead to health issues and loss of productivity. First of all, obesity in results incorrect functioning in the human body and contributes to the risk of developing chronic illnesses. For example, as body fat percentage increases, the person’s metabolism worsens, which may cause diabetes or heart diseases. Secondly, overweight people are very unhealthy and more likely to suffer from stress and tiredness. This lessens their work capacity and lowers their productivity. For example, it has been proved that obese people need to put more effort to complete their daily tasks than a person with normal weight. To sum up, obesity is a huge problem that affects a lot of people nowadays. It is mainly caused by an inactive lifestyle and eating disorders and results in severe health problems and loss of productivity.