There is too much noise in many public places in cities.What are the causes of this problem? What can be done to solve the problem?

Public areas in cities today are becoming increasingly noisy. In my opinion, this change is caused by surging urban populations and shifting attitudes to personal space. The best solutions involve innovative urban design. The underlying reasons for higher noise levels in public spaces are growing residential figures and changes in social behavior. Firstly, the migration of individuals from the countryside to cities has been well documented over the last century. This trend shows no sign of abating and it is self-evident that more residents talking, operating vehicles, and interacting in public areas will create more noise. Moreover, people are now less self-conscious. This is a uniquely modern trend and is most apparent on social media. Most people are now comfortable making videos in public, taking photos, and talking loudly on their phones. This psychological shift has its benefits but one drawback is the contribution to noise levels. The most realistic solutions are adaptations by the authorities. I strongly believe that the trends themselves cannot be countered since they follow the dictates of human nature. Attempting to ban phone class in public or restrict residency numbers in certain cities would in fact engender greater problems. Instead, governments can make myriad minor adjustments. Public spaces could include more structures, such as trees and statues, in order to absorb sound. On public transport, there could be softer padding so that sound does not bounce and travel as far. There may also be steps that could be taken in terms of traffic and residential areas that would encourage more spread out cities with lower density. These are minor solutions to a large problem, however, their impact in the aggregate would be meaningful. In conclusion, although cities are becoming noisier as they become more populous and people are more open today, this can be remedied if authorities devise novel counters. In the future, this issue will only become more pressing.