In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own or experience.

The contentious argument that whether to work or study erupt an incessant heated debate among many. Some societies often urged teenagers to have a gap period and acquire some experience. This essay will discuss both positive and negative aspects of this practice. On the one hand, there are various advantages of indulging oneself in work or travel before starting your studies. Firstly, one can get familiar with the jobs he wants to do in the future. For instance, one can get the exposure of doing different things like sailing a yacht or being a chef etc. Secondly, it will also provide you with an opportunity to visit distinct countries and meet new people. According to The New York Times, 70% of successful leaders have done the same in their teenage. On the other hand, the opponents believe there are some disadvantages as well. To begin with, a person who utilizes this term to roam around would eventually be left behind in studies by his peers. For example, in some countries, there is a specific age criterion to join the army and if you don’t qualify for it, you will not be selected. Furthermore, this option is expensive and would cost a fortune because one would need money to afford everything, from air tickets to accommodations. To illustrate, if a person didn’t find a suitable job to pay for his needs and intricacies, he would end up losing his savings. In conclusion, there are both pros and cons of spending a term in the practical world and it is up to a person to choose wisely among the two.