Human activities have a negative effect on plant and animal species. Some people say that it is too late to do anything. Some people think that we should take effective action to improve the situation. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There are controversial perspectives heating a debate over humans’ impact on nature. While some hold a strong view that actions have to be taken effectively, others argue that the issue is too late to be dealt with. Although each has its own perks, I would contend that there is still time for humankind to resolve this problem. Undoubtedly, only after centuries of overexploitation did people realise nature has seriously been decimated, yet it is late to enhance the current situation. Since the dawn of civilization, a great number of species have ceased to exist due to humans’ activities. And when they become extinct, no matter how many efforts are made, there is no way people can bring these creatures back to life. Dodo birds can be cited as an obvious example as their extinction was directly linked to hunting. When Dodo birds were discovered by mankind, it took only approximately a century for these poor birds to be hunted to the last. That is why it is too late for some actions to be done in this day and age. On the other hand, although the ecosystem has been destroyed severely, dwellers should join hands to make any possible efforts. As a wealth of fauna and flora are on the edge of extinction, authorities should create more preservation and ecosystem services to breed endangered species as well as protecting them from poaching. For example, the last White Rhino in North Africa has been under protection of the government for years. In fact, it is guarded day by day by soldiers in an isolated savanna. Therefore, dwellers are still capable of saving the wildlife from extinction, provided that dedicated actions of humans must be made. All in all, I believe though many animals are facing extinction due to anthropogenic factors, we should still try to preserve biological diversity as well as possible in the long run.