In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the cases? What can be done about this problem?

Despite the significant Advances in the agricultural sector, the problem of global hunger is still a burning issue, leading to the deaths of millions of people worldwide. If not dealt with, this problem can set the stage for further issues, among which crime and social disorders can be mentioned. This essay tries to investigate the root causes of starvation and offers some solutions accordingly. To begin with, the underlying causes of starvation can be classified into two categories. Firstly, a vast majority of hungry people have no or little literacy and do not possess any skills or qualifications that could help them to land a decent job. As a result, they do not have a source of income to satisfy their basic needs such as food, in which case they would face hunger. By way of explanation, in Africa, many people suffer from hunger due to ignorance and illiteracy. Secondly, in developing countries, Fragile economies and inflation increase prices. Therefore, more and more people, especially underprivileged social classes cannot afford to buy food, which leads to hunger. In dealing with such problems, some critical steps should take. Some people argue that mankind should send humanitarian aids to those who are hungry. True as it may seem, but this course of action is not effective to eradicate starvation. Hence, the better solution is to educate people. It is through education that hungry people can raise their awareness, meet the requirements of the labor market and have an income source. Thus, they can improve the standards of their living and overcome the problems of hunger. In addition, the government should decrease the price of food, so if nutrition becomes more affordable, a lower percentage of the population will go hungry. To sum up, starvation is rooted in a lack of literacy and economic problems. Due to this, deprived people, if not educated, are bound to remain hungry. Besides, decreasing the food cost should be in priority. Otherwise, the problem would not be addressed.