Some people think that to learn about other countries, they need to travel. Some say that it is not necessary to travel; we can have information through TV and internet. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some people think that to learn about other countries, they need to travel. Some say that it is not necessary to travel; we can have information through TV and internet. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Some people opine that in order to gain information about a foreign land, it is necessary to travel. Others refute this idea and I agree with them. In my opinion, it is possible to gather information without traveling. Having said that, there are some other advantages to traveling. While in my opinion one does not have to travel to find information about other countries, traveling certainly has some other benefits. To start with, it enables us to immerse ourselves in the culture of the country. On TV and the internet we can watch how foreigners celebrate their festivals but if we travel to those countries we will also get an opportunity to celebrate those festivals with the locals. The experiences are totally different. Likewise, when we travel they can taste foreign cuisine. Traveling also gives us opportunities to improve our communication skills. On the other hand, information about other countries can be obtained without travelling through online sources such as the internet, TV and mobile phones. Information technology has provided us numerous tools to access the internet and these tools deliver everything we want to learn / discover about other nations. Earlier we had little information about foreign lands, their people and their culture, but now it is even possible to make friends with them without having to leave our country. People can even earn foreign degrees from their home by joining the online courses of international universities. Thus, nowadays, there are numerous opportunities to acquire knowledge and information without traveling.