Nowadays, more and more people don't wear their national clothes, and the clothes look almost the same all over the world. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Fashion sense around the world is changing. In earlier times, people used to wear clothes as per their customs and beliefs, but these days, people all around the globe are following similar patterns while choosing clothes. In my opinion, it is a positive development. Firstly, when people from different backgrounds prefer similar clothing it is advantageous for the whole industry. This arrangement makes clothing more affordable because big manufacturers can produce them in abundance. This automatically cuts down the cost. For instance, Levis, a well-known brand in the garments industry makes jeans and shirts in bulk quantity and sells them at a reduced price. By contrast, if they do not do mass production, their cost will increase, making clothes more expensive. Also, clothes like jeans or trousers can be worn by people working in almost every sector whereas the ethnic wear of many countries can only be worn during certain formal occasions. For example, the Indian ethnic wear is not suitable for people working in factories or mines. What’s more, wearing similar clothes protect a person from many different kinds of discrimination. For example, Japanese and Chinese people wearing shirts and trousers will look exactly the same. Likewise, there will be nothing to distinguish between an Indian, a Pakistani and an Afghani if they wore similar clothes. Obviously, if people wore similar clothing, it gives them an appearance of uniformity and equality. In conclusion, I firmly believe that the trend of wearing similar clothes is encouraging as it benefits both the individual and the economy.