Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are played in teams, like football. But others think taking part in individual sports is better, like swimming. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

As with any issue, there are two sides that must be considered. It is argued that people will gain more benefits when participating in solo sports. However, I personally believe that engaging in team sports has more potential than individual games like running or swimming. On the one hand, it is understandable that there are several reasons why people think playing sports individually has more advantages. Firstly, people who choose to join in individual sports such as walking or cycling are likely to develop independence. Due to the fact that without members’ help, they have the opportunity to make decisions by themselves. By contrast, in a team, they often receive support and rely on other members, which may discourage them from developing this skill. Therefore, people who play individual games tend to be more competitive and just care about themselves. Secondly, besides developing independence they also have the chance to enhance their self-esteem. This is because they know their success depends mostly on their effort, so they concentrate and make an effort to succeed in the challenges. On the other hand, though playing solo sports has several advantages, I would argue that it is more beneficial when taking part in team sports like basketball or football. To begin with, people can learn how to work as a team properly and effectively. For instance, in a unit, they can improve social skills like communication, debating and so on, which individual sports they can not learn. In addition, playing as a team member, they would have more responsibility for their tasks. For example, sometimes people have to sacrifice themselves for the sake of their team. Team sports also teach people about leadership skills. In this competitive world, this skill is considered to be one of the most important factors, which can help their career prospects in the future. In conclusion, although I agree that individual sports bring benefits for players, team sports are the best choice for people to engage in.