Computers today can quickly and accurately translate languages; therefore, it is a waste to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Experts throughout the world have debated whether learning a new language is not required anymore as we have access to a PC that can do the translation easily. This essay totally disagrees with the statement. In my opinion, learning an additional language offers enormous benefits in both personal as well as professional life. Firstly, studying a foreign language helps to broaden our horizons. This means to say that you will be exposed to a variety of cultures and customs which will enhance your level of knowledge about the existence of cultural diversity. In addition, it's an additional skill that you are gaining to improve your standard of living. For instance, English is considered a global second language and it is mandatory to learn for better job opportunities as well as you are exposed to the new trend. We cannot carry machines wherever we go to do the translation as this will significantly impact our ability in front of everyone. Secondly, we can travel abroad and explore professional opportunities across the globe. It means to say that employers are expecting candidates to be fluent in more than one language in order to communicate with their clients from different countries. For example, most of the international meetings are held regularly in English, without knowing the language it is highly difficult to get along with their ideas. Furthermore, computers can translate a sentence but sometimes the actual meaning differs, for example, computers cannot understand sarcastic discussions. To conclude, even though PC has the ability to translate any language, the benefits of learning an additional language for career opportunities and personal development is considered significant.